Conservation and life in Borneo

A step in the right direction

It’s been raining all day. Cut some greens for my hairy friends, planted up some of the top of the screen wall near the quarantine centre and started to experiment with using some fallen wood to make steps on an area of path which is for now a slippery slope.

Today was an easier day as I had no exercise to do. usually I do some running as I shall be doing the Borneo Marathon for the BSBCC in May. I am keeping a log of my training here, in the hope that it keeps me motivated.

We also picked up a fresh volunteer, Marianne, from the airport. She became interested in the sun bears when she came to Sepilok several years ago to work with the orangutans.

One of the most interesting things of the day was finding snake eggs in the toilet’s cistern pipe at home. No wonder it wouldn’t flush properly! I’ll be extra vigilant next time I need the Frank Zappa.

For me, the truly amazing thing was how the snake had laid a cluster of eggs in the pipe, blocking it, and then escaped.

Leave a Reply

