Conservation and life in Borneo

Opposites attract


A crab-eating macaque and a Southern pig-tailed macaque at Sepilok.

Today, whilst going for lunch, I saw a troop of around 12 Southern pig-tailed macaques. Mixed in with them were 2 crab-eating macaques. These interest me. Their geographical ranges are very similar, yet they are quite distinct, but still seem to give me the impression that they are able to mix freely together in a social group. I wonder if one day I’ll see a hybrid?

3 responses

  1. Emily

    I really like this photo for the comparison. I don’t think I’ve seen a pig-tailed macaque before 🙂

    March 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm

  2. waipak

    Hey, there are hybrid out there. Prof Mic had caught one or two hybrid as well! It is quite common here. just need spend some time, you could find them.

    March 27, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    • paulclenton

      Cheers for the advice, WP. Need to give my “monkey eye” some training!

      March 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

