Conservation and life in Borneo

A nice place for a cuppa

Every once in a while it’s nice to get away and relax. I found just the spot for this at the top of the hill which overlooks Sandakan: the English teahouse. The food was good (and it wasn’t overly expensive) and the service was very good indeed.

More tea vicar?

I arrived at the tea house after walking up the “100 steps” and was a little warm; fortunately I was handed a cold wet towel to cool down with. That was just the job. The first thing I ordered was a pot of Earl Grey tea with mini fruit tarts and crumpets (pikelets where I’m from) with jam and butter. I must say that this was really nice, but i was still a little peckish, so I ordered the apple crumble with vanilla ice cream. This was really good and incredibly filling. I particularly like the slices of fresh apple on top; nice touch.


“Eat me!”
I’ll be ordering both of those dishes again!


The Keith House
The tea house is next to the home ofAgnes Keith, an American author who lived in Sandakan before and during WWII, which has now been turned into a museum. Her most famous book is probably Land Below the Wind.

Anyway, a nice break. Perhaps I’ll go there again after my next long training run?

Leave a Reply

